interwiring, phase III

Good evening, y’all.

Nothing like relaxing with some Kit 1 building at the end of a long workday.

I’m not going to get to wiring up the RCA inputs tonight, but I can show you some of the wiring odds and ends that I managed to finish.

First, it turns out that not all of the many, every-color-of-the-rainbow transformer wires are used in every build of this kit. For example, different sets of Mains Transformer wires are used, and others left unconnected, depending on the AC voltage of the country in which the Kit is being built. So what happens to the unused tranny wires? You can’t just have them flopping around loose inside your Kit 1 chassis, threatening to blow up your amp (not to mention your face) one day, now can you?

So, what you do is this. You cut the unused wires short and seal off the ends with shrink tubing. Brilliant. Here are a couple of examples from the Mains Transformer. Note the bundle of wires on the left and the single, yellow wire on the right:

IMG_0237

As I was going through the interwiring diagrams tonight, I realized (the shock, the horror!) that I’d actually completely missed the connection from the Driver Board to the Ground on the Power Supply board. As I was rectifying this grievous omission, it occurred to me that you might like to see the underside of the PS and Driver PCB’s, to get an idea of just how much interwiring you do between them:

IMG_0234

Oh, and by the way, the single, black wire moving diagonally upward from left to right in the photo above is the connection I’d previously forgotten to make.

Finally, here’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for (or at least, the moment I’ve been waiting for…)

The installation of the four Mundorf Supreme Silver/Gold/Oil coupling caps to the Driver Board:

IMG_0236

Now those are some fine looking components, don’t you agree?

By the way, yesterday, my back-ordered tubes arrived from Brian in Canada. The 300 B’s are beautiful! I’m too tired to take any more photos tonight, but I’ll get you some next time.

Until then…

Leave a Reply

